Texas Girls Coaches Association Announces 2019 Hall of Fame Inductees and Award Winners

The 2019 Hall of Fame inductees have been selected by the Texas Girls Coaches Association. The inductees will be honored at the Honor Awards Banquet in Arlington, Texas on Monday, July 8, 2019 at the Arlington Hilton Hotel. Reception will be at 6:00 PM, and the Banquet will begin at 7:00 PM. The banquet is held in conjunction with the annual TGCA Summer Clinic which will take place July 8-11, 2019 at the Arlington Convention Center/Sheraton Hotel in Arlington, Texas. Tickets to the banquet are $40.00 each and can be purchased by going to the TGCA web-site (www.austintgca.com).


Hall of Fame inductees are:


Susan Brewer has for four decades been the Head Volleyball Coach in Bellville. Coach Brewer has led her beloved Brahmanettes in 1403 volleyball matches, which her team has surpassed the 1,000 win mark. Her teams have won or shared 32 District Championships, competed in 20 Regional Championship matches, advanced to the State Tournament making 15 appearances, winning 9 State Championships, finishing 2nd four years, and Semi-Finalist twice. Bellville made 8 consecutive state tournament appearances from 1990-1997, winning 6 State Titles in that span including 3 consecutive state championships in 1995, 1996, and 1997.


Guyla Smith began her coaching career at West ISD coaching volleyball, basketball, track and field, and teaching Social Studies. In 1991, Coach Smith was asked to start a softball program at West ISD.  Her teams have earned 12 District Championships, 6 trips to the State Tournament earning 3 runner-up finishes, and 1 State Championship in 2016.  Her teams have hit the 20-win mark 19 times and she has 657 wins and 209 losses.


Beverly Humphrey has been with the Lancaster Independent School District for 30 years, currently holding the position of Chief of Athletics, Public Relations, and Head Girls Track Coach. She has 27 consecutive  District Championships,  and has captured 11 UIL Track & Field State Team Championships. In 2008 her team set the record for the UIL State Championship 4x400 Relay with a time of 3:40.41 which still stands. Under her coaching, Lancaster has 13 UIL State Championships in the 4x400 Relay, 9 titles in the 4x200 Relays, and 7 in the 4x100 Relay.


Other Awards Recipients Are:

Margaret McKown Distinguished Service Award: Maria Kennedy – Director of Athletics – El Paso ISD

TGCA Sportswriter of the Year – Division I: Brandon Ogden – Tyler Morning Telegraph

TGCA Sports Writer of the Year – Division II: Cole McNanna – Sealy Currier Times