The 8th Annual Holiday Hoops Classic at Tenaha

Holiday Hoops Scholarship Recipients 2016


Student Name


Alto Yellow Jackets

Mikkah Hackett

Augustus Moore III

Carlisle Indians


Cal Goss

Carthage Lady Bulldogs

DeAndrea Traylor

Linda Brooks

Centerville Lady Tigers

Tori Tollett


Central Heights Lady Blue Devils


Danielle Templeton

Cushing Galkats


Jason Davis & Marion Garret

Dodd City Lady Hornets

Fallon Hilliard

Alex Stephenson

Elysian Fields Lady Jackets


Wayne Carter

Elysian Fields Yellow Jackets

Dylan Parker

Chaston Pruitt

Garrison Bulldogs

Dayton Bell

Alex Cloudy

Gary Lady Cats


Mitchell Skeen

Gary Bobcats

Blake Cranford

Jimmy Wallace

Harleton Lady Wildcats

Mary Echols

Shanna Johnson & Torriin Bush

Joaquin Lady Rams

Hana Bonner

Carrie Obregon

Joaquin Rams

Justin Hooper

Kevin Cates

Kountze Lionettes

Kiara Cole

Travis Williams

Kountze Lions

TJ Stanford

Duane Joubert

Laneville Yellowjackets

LaDarius Arnett

Joshua Jones

LaPoynor Lady Flyers

Hannah Massey

Gary Grahn

LaPoynor Flyers

KeAndre Eldridge

Dean Nuckolls

Lipan Lady Indians

Sarah Callaway and Maddie McGee

Amber Branson

Lipan Indians

Derrick Cook

Brent Gaylor

Martin’s Mill Lady Mustangs

Hailey Celsur

Tommy Cross

Martinsville Lady Pirates

Alexsys McElroy

Robert Bristow

Martinsville Pirates

Kase Hooper

Donal Mayhugh

Milano Eagles

Chase Silvey

Justin Hales

Oakwood Panthers

Brendon Washington

Chris Kuykendall

Sabine Lady Cardinals

Lynzee Faulkner

Sara Cantrell

Sabine Cardinals

River Bennett

Keith Taylor

San Augustine Lady Wolves

Leandra Wilson

Dee Randle

San Augustine Wolves

Cordel Moore

Tory Barnes

Shelbyville Dragons

Trez Barnes

David Schmitt

Slocum Lady Mustangs

Makayla Bickerstaff

Dustin Bates

Tenaha Lady Tigers

Brook McClure

Garry Davison

Tenaha Tigers

TK Gardner

Greg Jenkins

Thorndale Bulldogs

Josh Iselt

John Kovar

Timpson Lady Bears


Joshua Jourden

White Oak Ladynecks


Desiree Hutchins-Boyett

White Oak Roughnecks

Anthony Hoyt

Brett Cloud

Girls’ Tournament Winners

Consolation- Lipan Lady Indians

All Tournament-Maddie McGee

5th Place – Centerville Lady Tigers

All Tournament - Sara Stutzman

4th Place-Dodd City Lady Hornets

All Tournament-Fallon Hillliard

3rd Place- LaPoynor Lady Flyers

All Tournament-Jas Mitchell

All Tournament- Te’Aire Hambrick

2nd Place-Tenaha Lady Tigers

All Tournament- Brook McClure

All Tournament- Calecia Roland

All Tournament- Bianca Davison

1st Place- Martin’s Mill Lady Mustangs

All Tournament- Hailey Celsur

All Tournament- Abbie Orrick

Winning Coach-Tommy Cross

Girls’ Tournament MVP

Tournament MVP- Mollie Daniel

Boys’ Tournament Winners

Consolation-Shelbyville Dragons

All Tournament- Trez Barnes

5th Place- Sabine Cardinals

All Tournament-Will Shawn

4th Place – San Augustine Wolves

All Tournament- Q. Borders

3rd Place- Kountze Lions

All Tournament- TJ Stanford

All Tournament- Jeremiah Barker

2nd Place- Tenaha Tigers

All Tournament-Trai Gardner

All Tournament-Ja’Qualin Franks

1st Place- Lipan Indians

All Tournament-Tate Phillips

All Tournament- Santana Martinez

Winning coach Brent Gaylor

Boys’ Tournament MVP

Tournament MVP Derrick Cook

2016 Holiday Hoops Hall of Fame Inductees

Saltillo Lady Lion Victoria Stretcher

In the early days of Holiday Hoops, fans knew what they were going to see when the Saltillo Lady Lions came to town; disciplined, fundamental, almost even surgical basketball.  From the tournament’s first year in 2009 through 2012, no one dominated the field quite like the Lady Lions.  

The three time tournament champions annually swept through the competition behind the consistent strength of their inside, go-to layer, Victoria Stretcher.

Though Victoria towered over most opponents, she exemplified what it meant to be a complete player by often serving as a ball handler and great passer.  She also was the preeminent rim protecting defender at Holiday Hoops in those early years.

Victoria was named to the All-Tournament team four consecutive years and was the Most Valuable Player in 2011.  In her senior year, Victoria once again was fell in the Semi-Finals and subsequently finished 3rd by defeating White Oak.

However, the Holiday Hoops experience prepared the Lady Lions for bigger things as later that spring, Victoria led her team all the way to the State Tournament in Austin where they would finish Runner-Up to Witharral in the Class A State Title game.  

Tenaha Lady Tigers’ Coach Garry Davison

Intense…Passionate…Winner…That pretty much sums up Holiday Hoops Hall of Famer Garry Davison.  Coach Davison led the Saltillo Lady Lions to three championships and a 3rd place finish in the first four editions of the tournament.  

He joins Duane Joubert of Kountze as the second three-time Holiday Hoops winning coach.  After his remarkable run at Saltillo, Davison was lured to Tenaha to take the Lady Tiger program to new heights.  And, that is exactly what he has done.  

In less than four seasons in Tenaha, Coach Davison has taken the Lady Tigers twice to the Regional Tournament. And, for the first time in school history, the Lady Tigers were recognized by the polls as the number one ranked team in Texas under his leadership.  Coach Davison also led the Lady Tigers to the first trophy win for Tenaha in Holiday Hoops by defeating Chireno for 3rd place in 2015.  He was able to lead the Lady Tigers to Runner Up in this year’s Holiday Hoops Tournament.  


East Texas Press

PO Box 2594
Lindale, TX 75771
Office: (936) 254-5050

Subscriber Links