On Thursday, May 9, 2019, Panola College conducted its 83rd commencement in the Arthur Johnson Gymnasium. The first ceremony took place at 5:00 p.m. followed by a second ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Panola College had more than 362 degree and certificate candidates and over 233 of those students participated in the commencement ceremonies.


At the start of both ceremonies, Mr. Don Clinton, Vice President of Student Services, presented each graduating class of spring 2019 as Dr. Gregory Powell, President of Panola College led the processional of board members, faculty, staff, and students in to be seated while “Pomp and Circumstance” was played in the background.


The Panola College Chorale, directed by Mrs. Sandra Bauer, then sang the Alma Mater which was followed by the invocation given by Mr. Earnest Spencer, Professor of School of Energy and Chemistry. Dr. Powell then welcomed the assembled and gave opening remarks to the graduates.


At the 7:30 pm ceremony, Mrs. Jessica Pace, Director of Institutional Advancement, recognized Mr. David Glynn Russell as the 2019 Panola College Alumnus of the Year. Russell attended Panola College in 1972-73 then went on to obtain a degree from Texas A&M University. After returning to East Texas in 1985, he opened a flooring store, Russell’s Floors, which he still owns and manages today. He is also the owner of the Peach Shed, serves on the Flatfork Water System board, and volunteers at his local church, Center Christian Fellowship.


Before the awards ceremony, Dr. Billy Adams, Vice President of Instruction, certified to Dr. Powell and members of the Panola College Board of Trustees that the graduating students had completed all work necessary to graduate from Panola College.


Dr. Kathy Watlington, Professor of Foreign Languages, then began the reading of graduates and Powell awarded diplomas to all graduating students.


For the closing of both ceremonies, the Panola College Choir sang the benediction, followed by Dr. Powell leading the recessional to the closing instrumentals.

Panola College is proud to announce the following Spring 2019 Honor Graduates:


Summa Cum Laude              3.90 – 4.00


Katie Melinda Alexander          Longview, TX

Vanessa Renee Cox                  Waskom, TX

Kelan James Foster                   Carthage, TX

Elizabeth Carolyn Holloway    Henderson, TX

Rebecca Edith-Lynn Mathis    Tenaha, TX 75974

Michael Camden Mize            Beckville, TX

Gregory Waylon Murdock    Carthage, TX

Julia Prewitt                           Joaquin, TX

Emily Michelle Smith           Jasper, TX

Waldina Soto                         Lufkin, TX

Nicole Tarpley                      Carthage, TX

Darian Wood                         Nacogdoches, TX


Magna Cum Laude               3.75 – 3.89


Maria Adashchyk                         Minsk, Belarus

James Baker                                 Marshall, TX

Alishia Bammel                           Henderson, TX

Yvonne Combs                            Keithville, LA

Erica DeLaine Booth                   Marshall, TX

Keith A.  Coleman                       Carthage, TX

Drew James Diverdi                    Center, TX

William Christopher Edwards     Garrison , TX

Jessica Nicole Fernandez            Wallis, TX

Jenna Campbell Grover               Purvis, MS



Cum Laude                            3.50 – 3.74


Cindy Baldazo                            Overton, TX

Maelbi G. Calderon                    Seagoville, TX

Crystal Rose Ann Carbajal         Longview, TX

Dalayna Daw                              Joaquin, TX

Davina Leigh Eddy                     Longview, TX

Caitlin Paige Elliott                    LongBranch, TX

Dominique Espinoza                  Marshall, TX

Kallie Marie Forman                  Buna, TX

Maricruz Gonzalez                     Center,TX

Savana Renee Hanaway             DeBerry, TX

Samantha Highfield                    Marshall, TX

Jonathan Jenkins                        Center, TX

LaToya Johnson                         Marshall, TX

Kase Alan Hooper                       Center, TX

Randall Aaron Jackson                Gary, TX

Shelby Kay Kite                          Carthage, TX

Kirsten Mayfield                         Garrison , TX

Leah Marie Montandon              Overton, TX

Pamela Nichole Painter              Marshall, TX

Addison Paige Pope                   Carthage,  TX

Whitney Ramsey                        Marshall, TX

William Patterson Tomlin          Center, TX

Graciela Villanueva                    Henderson, TX

Tyler D. Johnson                        Tyler, TX

Kristen Faye LeBlanc                 Marshall, TX

Lacy Rose Miles                         Marshall, TX

Trista LeAnne Mustard               Joaquin, TX

Keather Nichols                          Buna, TX

Lara Beth Padgett                       Jefferson, TX

Hunter Smith                              Marshall, TX

Breanne Symone Pereles            Laneville, TX 

Rialie Jo Taylor                          Garrison, TX

Mary Cassie Tinkle                    Carthage, TX

Rocio Venegas                           Timpson, TX

Stacy Leann Youngblood           Carthage, TX