DETCOG Board Forms Committee to Search for New Executive Director

 The Board of Directors of the Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) met in its first regularly scheduled session of 2016 Thursday in the San Augustine Historical Theater in San Augustine, Texas.  After taking care of routine business and hearing several committee reports the board members retired to the adjacent building for the purpose of discuss personnel matters in a session closed to the public.  

Upon their return the board acknowledged the receipt of a letter from DETCOG Executive Director Walter G. Diggles, Sr. announcing his retirement.  Diggles had been on leave from DETCOG after his indictment by a federal grand jury. 

In open session the board then voted to move forward with the creation of a search committee for the purpose of developing a job description and finding DETCOG’s next executive director.  The search committee will consist of DETCOG’s current Executive Committee and the executive directors of three other Councils of Government; Jack Steele from Houston-Galveston Area Council, Shawn Davis from the Southeast Texas Regional Planning Commission and Russel Devorsky from the Heart of Texas Council of Governments.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the DETCOG Board is set for Thursday, February 25, 2016.  It will be held in Houston County.



East Texas Press

PO Box 2594
Lindale, TX 75771
Office: (936) 254-5050

Subscriber Links