Nacogdoches County Emergency Management Coordinator is Recipient of DETCOG Presidents Award



Nacogdoches County Emergency Management Coordinator Tara Triana received the Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) 2018 Presidents Award for outstanding committee work.  The presentation was made at its annual membership meeting in Lufkin. 

In making the award DETCOG President Lynn Torres said, “This is a person that does a lot more than just chair meetings.  When there’s work to be done, Tara rolls up her sleeves and leads the effort.  She helps with research and provides valuable input in the preparation of the annual Homeland Security Risk Assessment and Implementation Plan for our region.  With her leadership, our regional plan scored in the top 10 percent of all the regions this year.  She has also been instrumental in updating our regional mutual aid agreements.” 

DETCOG Executive Director Lonnie Hunt later emphasized the importance of committee chairs in the agency’s work, “DETCOG committees review and vet many important items before they come to the Board for action.  Our committees also serve as a resource for DETCOG programs.”

          DETCOG is a voluntary association of local governments in the 12-county region encompassing all of Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity and Tyler Counties. Current membership includes 12 counties, 36 cities, 40 school districts, 11 special districts, the Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas, plus a number of chambers of commerce, local economic development organizations, and other sustaining members.